Why Alabama can’t wait:
next steps to constitutional reform
Schedule of events

A conference sponsored by Alabama Citizens for Constitutional Reform, the Birmingham Area Chamber of Commerce and Jacksonville State University

Date: October 23, 2001
Place: Richard M. Scrushy Conference Center
Time: 8:30 a.m. — 1:00 p.m. Cost: $15 contribution; students free

8:30 — Coffee in the lobby. Blue grass music in the auditorium.

9:00 — Call to order: President William Meehan, Jacksonville State University, and Hon. Albert Brewer, Cumberland School of Law

9:15 — First Panel — Where Next for Reform?
       Moderator: Hon. Jim Bennett, Secretary of State
       Hon. Jack Edwards, Mobile
       Mr. Bill Smith, ACCR Hon.
       Dennis Steverson, Tuscaloosa
       Mr. Mike Warren, Energen Corp.

10:15 — Keynote Address: Judge Howard Hawk, Marshall County

10:45 — Break

11:00 — Workshops
       1. Local Democracy Moderator:
              Ms. Marsha Folsom, Cullman
              Commissioner Mary M. Buckelew, Jefferson County
              Mr. Sonny Brasfield, Association of County Commissions of Alabama
              Commissioner Sam Jones, Mobile County

       2. Education and Funding
              Moderator: Mr. Sid McAnnally, Decatur
              Chancellor Tom Meredith, University of Alabama System
              Mr. Ted Kennedy, BE&K Construction Co., Birmingham.
              Dr. Ethel H. Hall, Alabama State Board of Education
              President Judy Merritt, Jefferson State Community College

       3. How a Citizens Convention Can Work
              Moderator: Ms. Cathy Golden, Mobile
              Hon. Albert Brewer, Cumberland School of Law
              Prof. Howard Walthall, Cumberland School of Law
              Hon. Mac Gipson, Alabama House of Representatives (invited)

       4. How Students Can Participate
              Moderator: Dr. Natalie Davis, Birmingham-Southern College
              Panelists: Mr. Christopher Word, Samford University
              Mr. Kevin Garrison, University of Alabama
              Dr. Bailey Thomson, University of Alabama

11:50 — Break

12:00— Lunch (Presiding: Mr. David Adkisson, President, Birmingham Area Chamber of Commerce)

12:05 — Report of moderators

12:20 — Report to the People: Dr. Thomas E. Corts, Chairman, Alabama Citizens for Constitutional Reform.

12:40 — Premiere, ACCR Film 1:00 — Adjournment

Return to: Constitutional Reform ~ in the News

Alabama Citizens for Constitutional Reform Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 34
Montgomery, Alabama 36101-0034

E-mail: accr@constitutionalreform.org
Home Page  |  Return to Top of Page